Working towards Narracje

Over the last 3 months I have continued knitting leaves and assembling branches for my installation in Gdansk, November 15-17 2013.
The process is slow and repetitive, but endlessly interesting as I select shapes and colours to put each one together.

The branches are modelled on plum and apple branches

The branches are modelled on plum and apple branches


Assembling branch number 1

Tip of branch completed

Winding wool round stems

Selecting colours for stems

Now assembling the 15th branch, I am aiming to complete 733 leaves which will make 17 branches altogether. This represents the number of children who came to New Zealand on November 1st, 1944 – displaced Polish children who were given a home in Pahiatua in the central North Island.

I feel they are beginning to look a substantial number

I feel they are beginning to look a substantial number


Other important aspects of this project have included making connections with members of NZ’s large and active Polish community, planning the installation in conjunction with the curator Rob Garrett and the team in Gdansk, and investigating ways of hanging and lighting the work effectively.
Experimenting with butylene irrigation pipe to make a socket for 2 or 3 branches - this will be connected to the tree

Experimenting with butylene irrigation pipe to make a socket for 2 or 3 branches – this will be connected to the tree


First I used a small torch held in my teeth while I took the photo

First I used a small torch held in my teeth while I took the photo


A 1W LED gives a lot of light

A 1W LED gives a lot of light


I was thrilled by the positive responses of those I have spoken to, and am looking forward to ongoing discussions as I seek to learn more about Gdansk, about the story of the Polish children and other Polish people who have settled here, strengthening the integration of my work with their narratives. I am enjoying the developing collaborative elements in this work.
I have also been researching more about the site online, and factors like the weather – apparently it is likely to be damp or drizzly – but that shouldn’t affect the work – which stands up well to a bit of rain!
Glistening after the rain

One comment on “Working towards Narracje

  1. Jill Butler says:

    Hi Juliette…just beautiful! I love this work!

Leave a Reply

